2019 ASMR Major Award Nomination

Call for 2019 ASMR Major Award Nominations

The awards program of the American Society of Mining and Reclamation (ASMR) is our premiere recognition of outstanding and exemplary efforts in reclamation of lands and waters impacted by disturbances due to mining and other landscape altering activities. Efforts to be awarded include related fields of research, teaching, outreach, and long-term efforts and accomplishments in this area. Our awards committee is composed of representatives of the mining industry, academia, and government agencies (regulatory and research).

We are now accepting nominations for the following awards:

Reclamationist of the Year Award,
Richard H. and Lela I. Barnhisel Researcher of the Year Award,
William T. Plass Award,
Early Career in Reclamation Award,
Distinction in Reclamation Award,
Pioneers in Reclamation.

The Recognition of Pioneers in Reclamation Award is not limited to one individual in a given year so please remember those that have contributed significantly to the field of land reclamation throughout their career and nominate them for this award. We encourage all members to give serious consideration to nominating one of the many worthy members for these awards for 2019. Information on the details of the awards and the nominating procedures are on the Awards Page of the ASMR web site (http://www.asmr.us ).

Remember that the nominator and the successful recipient of the awards receive a complimentary registration for the annual conference — just another incentive to nominate a worthy co-worker/acquaintance in the field of reclamation. Nominations are due February 1, 2019; this gives the awards committee time to carefully evaluate the nominations.

Please submit your nomination to Paul Griswold at PGriswold@peabodyenergy.com as a single Word document. Ensure that your letters of recommendation are included as a part of nomination document. Please abide by the nomination length limits, which enable all nominations to receive equal and fair evaluation and comparison. Unsuccessful past nominations may be revised and resubmitted, often the difference between first and second place in any one year may be slight, so feel free to resubmit revised nominations. Now is the time to start preparing your nominations. We are hoping for a record year of nominations for 2019.

Thanks for nominating your deserving colleagues for recognition of their contributions to the science and practice of reclamation.
Robert G. Darmody
ASMR Executive Secretary
1305 Weathervane Dr.
Champaign, IL 61821
Phone: 217-493-7847
ASMR Web: http://www.asmr.us/